The Love of My Life

Our story starts in middle school. We were thirteen. He was the flirt of the school. I was just the normal girl with braces that hadn’t hit puberty. I had the biggest crush on him throughout middle school. We graduated and moved onto separate high schools. I hadn’t even thought about the cute, flirtatious boy until we found each other on Facebook. After becoming friends we caught up, exchanged numbers, and began texting each other during the long uneventful school days.

Our texting suddenly turned into him joining me as my date to homecoming our junior year. Unfortunately, the day before he had been diagnosed with Swine Flu and he told me he would not be able to join me. I instantly thought he didn’t want to be my date and was lying. And the thought was confirmed when after homecoming he cut off all contact.

Days passed, new boys came into my life and then after swearing boys off for awhile I got a text message from this same boy the next year in April. We caught up and instantly started texting during more long uneventful school days. Next thing I knew, we actually had plans to hang out. I was bursting from the inside and my teenage-self had quickly forgotten this boys past. We ended up hanging out at the causeway just walking and talking about life as we watched the sun go down. We walked to a bench and looked at the stars. Then he kissed me.

Butterflies flew throughout my body. The giddy feeling was everywhere. Our evening ended a couple hours later where he texted me and asked me to be his date for prom. I was so excited! The weeks went on until his prom. We kept in constant contact and things had changed this time. He was very attached to our conversations and if I weren’t to answer shortly after back to him, he would text me again. I had actually gotten creeped out and told everyone I didn’t want to go anymore. But I had a dress and there was no way I could back out now.

Image

The night of prom I was awkward and closed off. And he could tell. He kept asking if something was wrong but I kept saying no because how was I supposed to tell him that I wasn’t feeling it anymore. After our dinner and when we arrived at prom something changed. Suddenly I had been under this romantic spell of prom. We danced all night and finished the night at his house. We watched a movie and laid on the couch when he asked me to be his girlfriend.

Now fast forward to 3 years 10 months and 22 days. We’ve been together since that day and I wouldn’t have it any other way. We’ve gone through many stages. We’ve grown from two people who were attracted to each other to best friends. I know he’s my soul-mate if you will. We make each other a better person. We have had our bumps along these almost four years but that’s what makes us who we are today.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

